Category Archives: Accolades

Resident Shoutout!

PGY-2 and PSTP Branden Tarlow has been making some great waves recently. Yesterday, he won the first Annual Academic Debates DFW from the American Liver Foundation.

tarlow award

tarlow debate

This achievement comes right off the tail of his recent publication featured on the cover of Developmental Cell.

Cell Tarlow

Amazing work, Branden!


House Officers of Excellence!

Congratulations to our two fantastic recipients of the winter House Officers of Excellence award. This award is given to a PGY2 or PGY3 and a PGY1 who have been recognized by their peers for professionalism, clinical excellence, and contributions to the overall health of the program. The winners are decided by voting among the entire residency class.

The resident recipient is Dr. Katie Gavinski. Her peers note:

  • “Katie an exemplary resident. She brings a great attitude every day and is always focused on delivering the best patient care. She is quick to engage in learning, and she is the X factor that elevates her team and makes the work load always feel lighter. I am a huge fan.”
  • “Super caring about her patients and a great role model to her interns.”


The intern recipient is Dr. Bruno Alvarez. His peers note:

  • “Bruno’s knowledge base is insane. He brought good evidence to our shared patients that, frankly, I had never heard before. It became my practice as a resident to ask him about what he thought about the plan of care before I committed to it. Dental implants causing electrolyte disorders? Yup, Bruno taught me that. He is extremely motivated at self improvement and cares deeply for his patients. They are lucky to have him taking care of him.”
  • “He has been so helpful in supporting me as a co-intern. His knowledge base is unbelievable and he keeps a level head despite stressful situations.”


In addition to the above two, the following residents also deserve honorable mentions. They were also recognized by their peers for being outstanding clinically and professionally.

  • Dr. Varun Sondhi
  • Dr. Emily Bowen
  • Dr. Jenny Li
  • Dr. Shawn Simek
  • Dr. Tim Brown
  • Dr. Anurag Mehta
  • Dr. Joseph Moore
  • Dr. Chad Guenther
  • Dr. Christina Sherwood
  • Dr. Saroja Bangaru
  • Dr. Sam Saleh
  • Dr. Andrew Sumarsono
  • Dr. Komal Patel
  • Dr. Aaron Fond
  • Dr. Kelvin Oliver

Cheers to a Great Year!

To the Housestaff, Faculty, Fellows, and Students,
As our year with you ends, we want to take a moment to thank you. Thank you for your dedication, your professionalism, your curiosity, and your commitment to the best quality patient care. Thank you for being expert clinicians, accomplished researchers, and outspoken advocates for your patients. Thank you for helping open a brand new hospital, for being the best recruiters in the world, and for rising to the challenge of potpourri. Thank you for supporting us, for standing by our side, for voting on the case challenges, and for reading this blog! In short, thank you, for an amazing year – we know that next year will be even better!
– Your 2014-2015 Chief Residents (Punag, John, and Kate)

UTSW Intern Publications!

Dr. Arjun Gupta (PGY-01) has published several studies and case reports this year. Click on the links below to read his work! Great job Arjun!

The Impact of Physician Posture During Oncology Patient Encounters

An Unusual Cause of Facial Rash

Everything Points to Myeloma 

Altered mental status: what is the diagnosis?

MYST3/CREBBP Rearranged Acute Myeloid Leukemia after Adjuvant Chemotherapy for Breast Cancer

Long-term outcome of pyogenic vertebral osteomyelitis: a cohort study of 260 patients. 

UTSW Residents Present at American College of Cardiology Conference!

This past week, two of our UT Southwestern Internal Medicine residents presented at the American College of Cardiology conference in San Diego, CA. Purav Mody (PGY-03) presented “High Density Lipoprotein Cholesterol Efflux Capacity as a Novel Risk Marker for Incident Atherosclerotic Cardiovascular Disease Independent of Family History or Prevalent Coronary Calcium in a Multi-Ethnic Population-Based Study”. Ahmad Jabbar (PGY-03) presented “Impact of Coronary Revascularization Strategy on Clinical Outcomes of Patients with Chronic Total Occlusions.” Great job by our residents!

Extra-Intestinal Clostridium Difficile Infection

Dr. Arjun Gupta, a former Mayo Clinic Researcher and Resident Physician at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, describes his article appearing in the November 2014 issue of Mayo Clinic Proceedings, and summarizes the risk factors, management, and outcomes of these rare, but increasingly identified infections. Available at:

(A note to email subscribers: to access the video presentation, please visit the blog website from the link in the title, above).

QI and Patient Safety Award!

Kudos to second year resident Jeremy (Takashi) Warshauer! He received 2nd place in the Quality Improvement-Patient Safety Category at the Texas ACP Annual Scientific Meeting. The abstract was titled “Six Sigma Application at University of Texas Southwestern Hospital: Implementation of High Risk Osteoporosis Consult (HIROC) for Treatment of Osteoporotic Fractures.”  Other authors included Rajeev Singh, Jason Fish, and Ugis Gruntmanis. Congratulations, Dr. Warshauer!